Monday, February 18, 2013

Draft/Unapproved Minutes from Jan. 14, 2013 Meeting of Virginia Board of Pharmacy--Disciplinary action against Christopher K. Currin


Monday, January 14, 2013 Department of Health Professions
Perimeter Center
9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300
Henrico, Virginia  23233-1463
Orders/Consent Orders referred to in these minutes are available upon request
TIME & PURPOSE: Pursuant to § 54.1-2400(13) of the Code of Virginia, a telephone conference call of the Virginia Board of Pharmacy (“TCC”) was held at 10:25 a.m., on January 14, 2013, to consider the summary restriction of the license of Christopher K. Currin to practice as a pharmacist in the Commonwealth of Virginia.
PRESIDING: David C. Kozera, Chair
Jody H. Allen
Dinny Li
Empsy Munden
Ellen B. Shinaberry
STAFF PRESENT: Caroline D. Juran, Executive Director
Cathy M. Reiniers-Day, Deputy Executive Director
Eusebia L. Joyner, Disciplinary Program Specialist
Mykl Egan, DHP Adjudication Specialist 
Howard Casway, Senior Assistant Attorney General
Wayne T. Halbleib, Senior Assistant Attorney General
Nan Dunaway, DHP Pharmacy Inspector 
Vicki Garrison, DHP Pharmacy Inspector

POLL OF MEMBERS: The Board members were polled as to whether they could have attended a regular meeting at the office in a timely manner for the purpose of hearing evidence in a possible summary suspension case.  The Board members stated that they would not have been able to attend.  
With six (6) members participating and four (4) members unable to participate, it was established that a quorum could not have been convened in a regular meeting to consider this matter.
License No. 0202 011727 Wayne T. Halbleib presented a summary of the evidence in this case.

Upon a motion by Ms. Allen and duly seconded by Ms. Shinaberry, the Board voted 6-0, to convene  a closed meeting pursuant to § 2.2-3711(A) (27) of the Code of Virginia (“Code”), for the purpose of deliberation to reach a decision in the matter of Christopher K. Currin.  Additionally, she moved that Caroline Juran, Cathy Reiniers-Day, Eusebia Joyner and Howard Casway attend the closed meeting. 

At approximately, 12:50 p.m., Ms. Juran departed.
Reconvene: Having certified that the matters discussed in the preceding closed meeting met the requirements of § 2.2-3712 of the Code, the Board re-convened in open meeting and announced the decision.
Decision: Upon a motion by Ms. Munden and duly seconded by Mr. Adams, the Board unanimously voted 6-0 that, with the evidence presented, the practice as a pharmacist by Christopher K. Currin poses a substantial danger to the public; and therefore, said license to practice pharmacy in the Commonwealth of Virginia be and hereby is Restricted.

Upon a motion by Ms. Allen and seconded by Ms. Shinaberry, the Board voted that a Consent Order for a stay of the restriction with certain terms and conditions be offered to Mr. Currin.
ADJOURN: With all business concluded, the meeting adjourned at 1:10 p.m.
Cathy M. Reiniers-Day
Deputy Executive Director 
Eusebia L. Joyner
Disciplinary Program Specialist
David C. Kozera, Chair

No comments: